skip to content
Twenty-one Smith Moore Attorneys Named "Best in America"

Twenty-one Smith Moore Attorneys Named "Best in America"

October 13, 2005

GREENSBORO – Twenty-one lawyers from Smith Moore LLP's North Carolina offices have been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2006 (Copyright 2005 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, S.C.), a record number for the firm.  Fourteen of the 21 attorneys have been recognized on the Best Lawyers list for at least 10 consecutive years.

Attorneys from each of Smith Moore's key practice areas, including Litigation, Business, Health Care, and Labor and Employment, were recognized as Best Lawyers for outstanding client service and for performance and professional reputation in a practice area of law.

The Best Lawyers in America, a reference list used by law firms, corporations and government agencies around the world, has been featured in newspapers and magazines including The New York Times, Forbes, and The Washington Post.  The list has been compiled and published since 1983.

"To have 21 of our attorneys recognized for their excellence in the Best Lawyers guide is a tribute to everyone at the firm," said Steve Earp, managing partner of Smith Moore.  "It is a real compliment to our business practices and leadership to have had 14 of those attorneys recognized for a decade or more.  We are grateful to Best Lawyers in America for its continuing commitment to recognize excellence among the legal community."

The Best Lawyers list is based on 415,000 detailed evaluations of lawyers by their peers.  The evaluations are completed by attorneys listed in the previous edition of Best Lawyers, who participated in surveys and voted by fax, email, and phone to evaluate each candidate for the 2006 listing based on his or her individual merits.

The following Smith Moore attorneys are included in The Best Lawyers in America 2006, with (10) designating those who have been recognized for at least 10 consecutive years:

Kent Auberry (10), Corporate Law
Jonathan A. Berkelhammer, Personal Injury Litigation
Harold N. Bynum (10), Environmental Law
J. Donald Cowan, Jr. (10), Antitrust Law, Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury
Herbert O. Davis (10), Corporate Law, Financial Institutions Law
Alan W. Duncan (10), Commercial Litigation, First Amendment Law, Personal Injury Litigation
Stephen W. Earp (10), Environmental Law
Martin N. Erwin (10), Labor and Employment Law
Marilyn Feuchs-Marker, Family Law
Bynum M. Hunter (10), Personal Injury Litigation
Robert R. Marcus, Commercial Litigation
James A. Medford, Intellectual Property Law, International Trade and Finance Law
Charles E. Melvin, Jr. (10), Real Estate Law
Maureen Demarest Murray (10), Health Care Law
Barbara C. Ruby, Tax Law
Larry B. Sitton (10), Antitrust Law, Commercial Litigation
Julianna C. Theall, Labor and Employment Law
E. Garrett Walker (10), Real Estate Law
Jeri L. Whitfield (10), Workers' Compensation Law

Samuel O. Southern, Health Care Law
Robert L. Wilson, Jr. (10), Health Care Law

Contact:  Erin James
For Smith Moore LLP


Each of our lawyer's e-mail address is provided with his or her biography. If you are not a current client of our firm, you should not e-mail our lawyers with any confidential information or any information about a specific legal matter, given that our firm may presently represent persons or companies who have interests that are adverse to you. If you are not a current client and you e-mail any lawyer in our firm, you do so without any expectation of confidentiality. We will not establish a professional relationship with you via e-mail. Instead, you should contact our firm by telephone so that we can determine whether we are in a position to consult with you about any legal matters before you share any confidential or sensitive information with us.