skip to content
Smith Moore LLP Attorneys Honored as Legal Elite

Smith Moore LLP Attorneys Honored as Legal Elite

January 10, 2006

Eighteen Attorneys Voted Best in Their Field by Peers Across North Carolina

GREENSBORO – Smith Moore LLP is proud to announce 18 of the firm's attorneys have been named to Business North Carolina's 2006 Legal Elite listing of the best lawyers in their fields.  Smith Moore attorneys were recognized in nine of 12 possible categories.

Two additional Smith Moore partners, J. George (Jerry) Oliver and Larry B. Sitton, were previously added to the Legal Elite Hall of Fame.  Term limits were created for the top winners in each category from previous years, and those recognized as being among the state's top practitioners were recognized in the Legal Elite Hall of Fame, rather than in the annual list.

Smith Moore attorneys recognized in the 2006 Legal Elite listing include:

Bruce Ashley (Construction)
E. Kent Auberry (Business)
Jonathan A. Berkelhammer (Litigation)
Carole W. Bruce (Tax and Estate Planning)
Harold N. Bynum (Environmental)
Brian W. Byrd (Real Estate)
J. Donald Cowan, Jr. (Antitrust/Litigation)
Herbert O. Davis (Business)
Alan W. Duncan (Litigation)
Stephen W. Earp (Environmental)
Gregory G. Holland (Antitrust)
Amy H. Kincaid (Tax and Estate Planning)
Alexander L. Maultsby (Employment)
James A. Medford (Patents and Intellectual Property)
Charles E. Melvin, Jr. (Real Estate)
Julianna C. Theall (Employment)
E. Garrett Walker (Real Estate)
Denise Smith Cline (Employment)

To select the honorees, Business North Carolina distributed ballots to more than 17,000 lawyers licensed by the State Bar in North Carolina, asking them to name the best attorneys in a variety of legal categories.

Participants were not permitted to vote for themselves.  Attorneys could vote for members of their firms, but only if they also voted for someone outside of their firm in the same category.  Votes cast for attorneys outside of a voter's firm were weighed more heavily than those for colleagues.  Lawyers who did not receive votes from outside of their firm did not qualify, regardless of the number of votes received.  More than 1,700 lawyers received votes, with 495 getting enough to be named to this year's Legal Elite.

Contact:  Erin James
For Smith Moore LLP


Each of our lawyer's e-mail address is provided with his or her biography. If you are not a current client of our firm, you should not e-mail our lawyers with any confidential information or any information about a specific legal matter, given that our firm may presently represent persons or companies who have interests that are adverse to you. If you are not a current client and you e-mail any lawyer in our firm, you do so without any expectation of confidentiality. We will not establish a professional relationship with you via e-mail. Instead, you should contact our firm by telephone so that we can determine whether we are in a position to consult with you about any legal matters before you share any confidential or sensitive information with us.