skip to content
Smith Moore Leatherwood Places 58 Attorneys On "Best in America" List

Smith Moore Leatherwood Places 58 Attorneys On "Best in America" List

August 6, 2009

GREENSBORO, NC – One of the legal profession's best-known independent rating services has named 58 attorneys from Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP to its 2010 Best Lawyers in America listing.  That was an increase of five over the number of Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys who earned the "Best in America" distinction for 2009.  Best Lawyers is compiled annually by the research firm, Woodward/White, based on detailed peer evaluations by more than 2.8 million lawyers across the U.S.

Three attorneys from Smith Moore Leatherwood's Greensboro, NC office—Harold Bynum, Martin Erwin and Charles Melvin, Jr.—have earned the Best Lawyers distinction for 20 years.  Thirteen of the firm's lawyers have been named to the list ten times.

"To be recognized by their peers in this way is truly an honor for the lawyers who have earned the Best Lawyers listing," said Steve Earp, managing partner of Smith Moore Leatherwood.  "The standing these 58 lawyers have achieved in the legal community is a reflection of our firm-wide commitment to providing the highest quality counsel, strategic thinking and service to our clients."

Based on the number of lawyers named to the Best Lawyers listing, Smith Moore Leatherwood was one of the top-ranked law firms in North Carolina in alternative dispute resolution, appellate law, antitrust law and non-profit/charities law; it is among the number one firms in South Carolina in land use and zoning law and legal malpractice law; and tops in Georgia in insurance law.  The Greensboro office led all law firms in that city with 31 total attorneys on the list.

The following Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys will be included in The Best Lawyers in America 2010, with (10) designating those who have been recognized for at least ten years, and (20) designating those listed for at least 20 years:

Elizabeth J. Bondurant: Insurance Law
H. Sanders Carter, Jr.: Insurance Law

Jonathan Heyl, Antitrust Law
Robert R. Marcus: Commercial Litigation, Mass Tort Litigation
Larry B. Sitton (10): Antitrust Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation

Bruce Ashley: Construction Law
E. Kent Auberry: Corporate Law, Securities Law, Tax Law
W. Alexander Audilet: Corporate Law
Jonathan A. Berkelhammer: Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation
Carole W. Bruce: Trusts and Estates
Laura Deddish Burton: Immigration Law
Harold N. Bynum (20): Environmental Law
Brian W. Byrd: Real Estate Law
Herbert O. Davis (10): Banking Law, Corporate Law
Alan W. Duncan (10): Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, First Amendment Law, Medical Malpractice Law, Personal Injury Litigation
Stephen W. Earp (10): Environmental Law
Martin N. Erwin (20): Labor and Employment Law
James G. Exum, Jr.: Appellate Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation
Marilyn Feuchs-Marker: Family Law
Lisa Frye Garrison: Antitrust Law
Terrill Johnson Harris: Healthcare Law
Gregory G. Holland: Antitrust Law, Commercial Litigation
Stephen E. Klee: Corporate Law
David L. Kyger: Non-profit/Charities Law, Tax Law
Caroline Hudson Lock: Workers’ Compensation Law
Alexander Maultsby: Labor and Employment Law
James A. Medford: Alternative Dispute Resolution, Commercial Litigation, Intellectual Property Law, International Trade and Finance Law
Charles E. Melvin, Jr. (20): Land Use and Zoning Law, Real Estate Law
Maureen Demarest Murray (10): Healthcare Law
Barbara C. Ruby: Tax Law
D. Clark Smith, Jr. (10): Personal Injury Litigation
Thomas E. Terrell, Jr.: Land Use and Zoning Law
Julianna C. Theall (10): Labor and Employment Law
Allison O. Van Laningham: Appellate Law, First Amendment Law, Personal Injury Litigation,
Product Liability Litigation
E. Garrett Walker (10): Real Estate Law
Jeri L. Whitfield (10): Workers Compensation Law

William L. Dennis (10): Employee Benefits Law, Trusts and Estates
Steven E. Farrar: Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice Law, Professional Malpractice Law
Michael J. Giese (10): Commercial Litigation, Person Injury Litigation
Mark R. Holmes: Real Estate Law
F. Marion Hughes: Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law
J. Tod Hyche: Tax Law, Trusts and Estates
John E. Johnston (10): Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation
Natalma M. McKnew: Franchise Law
Robert D. Moseley, Jr.: Insurance Law, Personal Injury Litigation
A. Marvin Quattlebaum: Real Estate Law
Kurt M. Rozelsky: Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation
Jack H. Tedards, Jr.: Real Estate Law
Frank C. Williams: Corporate Law

Sidney S. Eagles, Jr.: Alternative Dispute Resolution, Appellate Law
James L. Gale: Bet-the Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation
Clyde Holt, III: Land Use and Zoning Law
Patricia A. Markus: Healthcare Law
George J. Oliver: Labor and Employment Law
Samuel O. Southern: Healthcare Law
Elizabeth C. Trahos: Land Use and Zoning Law
Robert L. Wilson, Jr. (10): Healthcare Law
David L. York: Land Use and Zoning Law

Contact: Donnie Turlington
For Smith Moore LLP
336.275.7000 ext. 23


Each of our lawyer's e-mail address is provided with his or her biography. If you are not a current client of our firm, you should not e-mail our lawyers with any confidential information or any information about a specific legal matter, given that our firm may presently represent persons or companies who have interests that are adverse to you. If you are not a current client and you e-mail any lawyer in our firm, you do so without any expectation of confidentiality. We will not establish a professional relationship with you via e-mail. Instead, you should contact our firm by telephone so that we can determine whether we are in a position to consult with you about any legal matters before you share any confidential or sensitive information with us.