skip to content
Smith Moore Leatherwood Announces 61 of Firm

Smith Moore Leatherwood Announces 61 of Firm's Attorneys Named The Best Lawyers in America

August 10, 2010

Greenville, SC  – Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP is pleased to announce that 61 of its attorneys have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2011, the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. The honored attorneys from Smith Moore Leatherwood span 34 distinct substantive areas in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

Included are attorneys from each of the firm's key practice areas: Corporate, Health Care, Labor and Employment, Litigation, Real Estate and Industry.

Five attorneys have been recognized by the publication for 20 years or more: Harold N. Bynum, Stephen W. Earp, Martin N. Erwin, Charles E. Melvin, Jr. and Maureen Demarest Murray. Ten attorneys have been included on the list for 10 to 20 years. Four attorneys are making their Best Lawyers debut in 2011: William Boling, Erik Albright, Robert deHoll, and Eric Spence.

"We are thrilled that our attorneys continue to be recognized year after year as some of the best in their fields. We are also particularly proud of our growing recognition firm wide, with four new attorneys being honored this year," said Rob Marcus, Chairman of the firm's Management Committee.

First published in 1983, Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive annual peer-review survey. For the new U.S. edition, more than 50 percent of the lawyers listed in Best Lawyers cast more than 3.1 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in the same and related specialties. Because of the rigorous and transparent methodology used by the publication, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.

The following Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys will be included in The Best Lawyers in America 2011, with (10) designating those who have been recognized for at least ten years, (15) designating those listed for at least 15 years and (20) designating those listed for at least 20 years:

• William H. Boling: Health Care Law
• Elizabeth J. Bondurant: Insurance Law
• H. Sanders Carter, Jr.: Insurance Law

• Jonathan Heyl, Antitrust Law
• Robert R. Marcus: Commercial Litigation, Mass Tort Litigation
• Larry B. Sitton (15): Antitrust Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation

• Erik Albright: Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation
• Bruce Ashley: Construction Law
• E. Kent Auberry (10): Corporate Law, Securities Law, Tax Law
• W. Alexander Audilet: Corporate Law
• Jonathan A. Berkelhammer: Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation
• Carole W. Bruce: Trusts and Estates
• Laura Deddish Burton: Immigration Law
• Harold N. Bynum (20): Environmental Law
• Brian W. Byrd: Real Estate Law
• Herbert O. Davis (15): Banking Law, Corporate Law
• Alan W. Duncan (15): Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, First Amendment Law, Medical Malpractice Law, Personal Injury Litigation
• Stephen W. Earp (20): Environmental Law
• Martin N. Erwin (20): Labor and Employment Law
• James G. Exum, Jr.: Appellate Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation
• Marilyn Feuchs-Marker: Family Law
• Lisa Frye Garrison: Antitrust Law
• Terrill Johnson Harris: Healthcare Law
• Gregory G. Holland: Antitrust Law, Commercial Litigation
• Stephen E. Klee: Corporate Law, Real Estate Law
• David L. Kyger: Non-Profit/Charities Law, Tax Law
• Caroline Hudson Lock: Workers’ Compensation Law
• Alexander Maultsby: Labor and Employment Law
• James A. Medford (10): Alternative Dispute Resolution, Commercial Litigation, Intellectual Property Law, International Trade and Finance Law
• Charles E. Melvin, Jr. (20): Land Use and Zoning Law, Real Estate Law
• Maureen Demarest Murray (20): Healthcare Law
• Barbara C. Ruby: Tax Law
• D. Clark Smith, Jr. (15): Personal Injury Litigation
• Thomas E. Terrell, Jr.: Land Use and Zoning Law
• Julianna C. Theall (10): Labor and Employment Law
• Allison O. Van Laningham: Appellate Law, Commercial Litigation, First Amendment Law, Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation
• E. Garrett Walker (10): Real Estate Law
• Jeri L. Whitfield (10): Workers’ Compensation Law

• Robert A. deHoll: Construction Law
• William L. Dennis (15): Employee Benefits Law, Trusts and Estates
• Steven E. Farrar: Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice Law, Professional Malpractice Law
• Michael J. Giese (15): Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Person Injury Litigation
• Mark R. Holmes: Land Use and Zoning Law, Real Estate Law
• F. Marion Hughes (10): Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law
• J. Tod Hyche: Tax Law, Trusts and Estates
• Natalma M. McKnew: Franchise Law
• Robert D. Moseley, Jr.: Insurance Law, Personal Injury Litigation
• Marvin Quattlebaum (10): Real Estate Law
• Kurt M. Rozelsky: Personal Injury Litigation, Product Liability Litigation
• Jack H. Tedards, Jr.: Real Estate Law
• Frank C. Williams: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions

• Sidney S. Eagles, Jr.: Alternative Dispute Resolution, Appellate Law
• James L. Gale: Bet-the Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation
• Clyde Holt, III: Land Use and Zoning Law
• Patricia A. Markus: Healthcare Law
• George J. Oliver: Labor and Employment Law
• Samuel O. Southern: Healthcare Law, Medical Malpractice Law
• Eric R. Spence: Real Estate Law
• Elizabeth C. Trahos: Land Use and Zoning Law
• Robert L. Wilson, Jr. (10): Healthcare Law
• David L. York: Land Use and Zoning Law


Each of our lawyer's e-mail address is provided with his or her biography. If you are not a current client of our firm, you should not e-mail our lawyers with any confidential information or any information about a specific legal matter, given that our firm may presently represent persons or companies who have interests that are adverse to you. If you are not a current client and you e-mail any lawyer in our firm, you do so without any expectation of confidentiality. We will not establish a professional relationship with you via e-mail. Instead, you should contact our firm by telephone so that we can determine whether we are in a position to consult with you about any legal matters before you share any confidential or sensitive information with us.